Italian Style Stuffed Mushrooms

DSCN7435

Today I prepared a simple but delicious appetizer. I like appetizers because they make a good snack or a perfect start to the meal.  The stuffed mushrooms I made are very easy and quick to prepare. There are many ways to prepare stuffed mushrooms but I like this one because it’s simple, does not require much time to prepare and tastes very good. The key to make it delicious is using all fresh ingredients. All you need is:

10-12 medium sized mushrooms

½ cup of fresh breadcrumbs

½ cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese

½ cup of cilantro leaves

1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

2 tbsp. olive oil

1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/4 of tsp. of pepper or to taste

First, I clean the mushrooms with a paper towel. Mushrooms absorb a lot of water so if you wash them in the water they will become soggy. They do have a lot of sand on them though so the best way to remove it is to use damp towel and clean them carefully. Once I clean the mushrooms, I remove the stems and scoop out the inside of the mushrooms. I try to take out as much as possible without breaking the mushrooms. I find that melon scooper works best for that.

DSCN7355

I leave the mushroom caps on the side and prepare the stuffing. First ,I chop the scooped out parts of the mushrooms and transfer it into a ball.

DSCN7358

Then I add chopped cilantro. If you don’t like cilantro you can substitute Italian parsley. The key is to use fresh herbs instead of the  dried once.

Then I add one clove of minced garlic and freshly grated parmesan. (I don’t like to use the parmesan that is already grated and packed in the box).

DSCN7363

I also prepare fresh breadcrumbs I cut one thick slice of ciabatta bread and process it in the food processor.

DSCN7367

DSCN7368

I add the breadcrumbs to the mixture. I always use fresh breadcrumbs because it makes a huge difference. They become nice and crunchy on top and give a nice texture to the stuffing. I also like to add crushed red pepper flakes to make the stuffing a little spicy. Finally, I add olive oil and a pinch of salt and pepper and mix it all together.

DSCN7370

I mix everything together and start stuffing the mushrooms.

DSCN7375

Then I bake the mushrooms in a preheated oven at 375-400 F for 15-20 minutes. Enjoy!!!!

DSCN7440

DSCN7428

Leave a Reply

