Prune Cake

DSCN6812

I went to the veggie market the other day to buy some fruits and vegetables and I saw delicious prunes. They looked so juicy and nice I could not say no to them. When I brought them home I was not sure what to make with them :/ I know they are delicious on their own but I like to cook and experiment with new flavor so I decided to transform them into something yummy. I immediately thought of some kind of cake. And whenever I want to make a cake I think of my aunt (my mother’s sister) who is the best baker I know!!! She can make all kinds of delicious cakes and is very creative. Unfortunately, she lives in Poland so I don’t get to enjoy her baking too often. I love when she shares her recipes with me though. So I called her and I told her I have some prunes and want to make some nice cake. She gave me this recipe.

DSCN6766

The cake came out light and fluffy, the prunes became soft and juicy. The combination of soft and a little bit sour prunes with a sweet cake made a great combination of flavor. The cake is very easy to make. I’m not the best baker but this cake came out great.

 

INGREDIENTS: (for 8inx8in baking dish)

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp. of baking powder
  • ½  cup of milk
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 7-8 prunes cut into a bit size pieces

 

To make it:

First you need to mix the butter with sugar until smooth. I use the hand mixer to do it.  Now here is a great trick I learned from someone a while ago. I usually forget to take the butter out before making the cake or I simply have no patience to wait until it becomes room temperature. If you have the same problem here is a solution. Just take a stick of butter and grate it. By grating the butter it becomes smaller and softens right away. Isn’t it a great tip?!?! 🙂  Thanks to whoever taught me that. It comes in really handy:).   Ok, after I mix the butter with sugar I add eggs one at the time. Then I add flour mixed with baking powder and milk until I get a nice silky and smooth batter.

DSCN6734

I transfer the batter into the baking dish and sprinkle the prunes cut into bite size pieces on the top. I push the prunes a little bit inside the cake.

DSCN6743

Then I bake it at 325 for approximately 40 minutes. Check the cake at 30-35 minutes to make sure it is not burning. The best way to check if the cake is done is to insert a toothpick. If it comes out clean the cake is ready.

DSCN6745

 

Sprinkle powdered (confectioners) sugar all over the top and enjoy!!!

DSCN6747

DSCN6795 DSCN6782

Try it warm with some vanilla ice cream on the side. Delicious 🙂

DSCN6821

Thanks for reading 🙂 Please give me your feedback by leaving a comment and If you liked the recipe please SHARE it with your family and friends 🙂

3 thoughts on “Prune Cake

Leave a Reply

