Philly Cheesesteak

DSCN6364

Today I am preparing one of the most popular American sandwiches (at least on the East Coast 😉 ) I love sandwiches because they are quick and easy to make. They are also perfect as lunch on the go. They don’t require reheating and there are many varieties and options to make them.

DSCN6340

The first time I ate this sandwich was when I went to Philadelphia. Philly is a beautiful city in Pennsylvania that has a great history. During my visit I got to see the famous Liberty Bell, which is a symbol of American Independence. Independence was declared in the United States of America on July 4th 1776. On that day, 13 American colonies, declared themselves as separate states and no longer British colonies. Four days later, July 8th 1776, Liberty Bell rang out from the tower of Independence Hall, calling citizens to hear the first public reading of Declaration of Independence by Colonel John Nixon.* (http://uaoc.org/fourth/libertybell.html)

DSC02002

Interesting fact about the bell …

                         The Liberty Bell weighs 2,080 pounds. The yoke weighs about 100 pounds *

*(http://www.visitphilly.com/history/philadelphia/the-liberty-bell-center/)

During my visit to Philly I also visited one of the most popular Philly Cheesesteak stands which is Pat’s King of Steaks. The sandwich was very good. Nice crispy roll filled with sliced steak and melted cheese on top. There are also variety of toppings to choose from on the side. Some of the choices included onions, peppers, relish, ketchup and mustard. I really enjoyed the city and the signature sandwich of Philadelphia. I decided to recreate the sandwich and this is what I came up with:

To make 2 sandwiches you will need:

  • Whole grain baguette
  • 3 slices of provolone or swiss cheese
  • Half red and half yellow pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • Pinch of oregano
  • ½ pound of steak

For the Marinade:

  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp of minced garlic
  • 1 tsp of minced ginger
  • ¼ cup of pineapple or papaya minced or juice (natural meat tenderizer)

To make it:

First, I thinly slice the meat and marinate it with ginger, garlic, papaya or pineapple juice and a little bit of salt and pepper. The longer it marinates the better and more tender it gets. I recently discovered that a juice of pineapple or papaya is a great natural meat tenderizer. It makes the meat so tender it melts in your mouth. I used to get frustrated cooking beef because it would get very tough and chewy. You usually have to cook it for a long time in order for it to become tender. The juice of papaya or pineapple solves this problem and you get wonderful tender piece of steak.

After the meat marinated, I take it out of the fridge and bring to the room temperature. In the mean time, I slice the onions and peppers. I sauté the onions with a tablespoon of olive oil on a high heat until golden brown. Then I add peppers and fry for another 2 minutes. Don’t forget the salt and pepper to taste. Once the peppers are softened, I remove everything from the pan and set aside. Then I add another tablespoon of olive oil and fry the meat in batches to make sure it has nice brown color. If you crowd the pan with the meat too much it will release the juices and will not brown nicely. When the meat is nice and brown I return the onions and peppers to the pen and fry for few minutes. I also like to sprinkle a teaspoon of dried oregano on the top. It makes it smell sooo good and I love the taste of oregano. After everything comes together I turn the heat off and put 2-3 slices of provolone or Swiss cheese on top and cover the pan to allow the cheese to melt. While the cheese is melting I put my baguette in the oven to warm up for few seconds. And VOILA, now just assemble the sandwich and enjoy.

Make sure to try this recipe and let me know what you think. ENJOY !!! Remember cooking does not have to be difficult. If I can do it YOU can do it too 🙂

DSCN6367 DSCN6331

Thanks for reading. If you like the recipe please share it with your family and friends. If you didn’t like it please leave a comment 🙂

 RECIPE RECAP:

INGREDIANTS FOR 2 SANDWICHES:

  • Whole grain baguette
  • 3 slices of provolone or swiss cheese
  • Half red and half yellow pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • Pinch of oregano
  • ½ pound of steak
  • For the Marinate:
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp of minced garlic
  • 1 tsp of minced ginger
  • ¼ cup of pineapple or papaya minced or juice (natural meat tenderizer)

TO MAKE IT:

  1.  cut the meat into strips and marinate it with ginger, garlic, papaya or pineapple juice and a little bit of salt and pepper. The longer it marinates the better and more tender it gets. I recently discovered that a juice of pineapple or papaya is a great natural meat tenderizer. It makes the meat so tender it melts in your mouth. I used to get frustrated cooking beef because it would get very tough and chewy. You usually have to cook it for a long time in order for it to become tender. The juice of papaya or pineapple solves this problem and you get wonderful tender piece of steak.
  2. After the meat has marinated I take it out of the fridge and bring it to the room temperature.
  3. In the mean time I cut my onions and peppers in the strips.
  4. I sauté the onions with a tablespoon of olive oil on a high heat until golden brown.
  5. Then I add peppers and fry for another 2 minutes. Don’t forget the salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Once the peppers are softened I remove everything from the pan and set aside.
  7. Then I add another tablespoon of olive oil and fry the meat in batches to make sure it has nice brown color. If you crowd the pan with the meat too much it will release the juices and will not brown nicely.
  8. When the meat is nice and brown I return the onions and peppers to the pen and fry for few minutes. I also like to sprinkle a teaspoon of dried oregano on the top. It makes it smell sooo good and I love the taste of oregano.
  9. After everything comes together I turn the heat off and put 2-3 slices of provolone or Swiss cheese on top and cover the pan to allow the cheese to melt.
  10. While the cheese is melting I put my baguette in the oven to warm up for few seconds
  11. Assemble the sandwich and EAT 🙂

Wersja Polska/ Polish Version

3 thoughts on “Philly Cheesesteak

Leave a Reply

