Caramel Puffed Rice Cones

 DSCN0139

This was my favorite dessert when I was a little girl and I still love it today 🙂  It is also a very popular Polish dessert. We call it “SZYSZKI” in polish [pronounced schischky], which means cone, because it looks like a pinecone 🙂
We used to make SZYSZKI with my mom for different family occasions and holidays. Now, I make it almost every week because my daughter LOVES them so much. They are gone in minutes. Even my husband (who is not a big dessert person)  likes to eat them.

The best part about making those cute caramel cones, is the fact that they take literally minutes to make and require only 4 ingredients 🙂

So to make this yummy dessert you will need:

  • 250 gram of caramel candy  (I use cow tales but Nips also work great, or any other caramel candy)
  • 2 tbsp. of butter (use a little more butter if you are using Nips as they are a little hard)
  • 2 cups puffed rice
  • 1 tbsp. of cocoa powder

DSCN0093DSCN0094

Traditionally szsyszki are made without cocoa powder but I think it adds a nice flavor and looks pretty. I eat with my eyes so it is important to me that the food looks good 🙂

It is very quick and simple to make. If you have last minutes guests and nothing sweet to serve with tea or coffee, this is your go to dessert. Just make sure to always have caramel candy and a big pack of puffed rice on hand. (like I do) 😉

To make it just melt the candy and the butter in the pot. Add a little bit of milk to help the mixture come together. Once you have a smooth mixture like that:

DSCN0097

Add the cocoa powder and mix until well incorporated.

Add the puffed rice and stir well

DSCN0107

Start making the cones. Make sure to make your hands wet by inserting them into cold water. To make it into a cone shape, form your hand into a cone and squeeze it a little on top. The mixture will be hot, so be careful, don’t burn your hands 😉

DSCN0115

 ENJOY !!!!

DSCN0130 DSCN0160 DSCN0143

[yumprint-recipe id=’2′] 

2 thoughts on “Caramel Puffed Rice Cones

Leave a Reply

