Chicken Corn Soup

DSCN0323

The first winter storm of 2013 has come to New Jersey. It is snowing hard and it’s so cold outside that I don’t feel like sticking my nose out of the warm comforter. This is a perfect time to eat some warm and healthy chicken corn soup. It will warm you up in this chilly weather and keep you satisfied for many hours. 

I am not a big fan of soups, which is unusual for Polish person 😉  In Poland soups are always the first course of every meal. There is no lunch without the SOUP 🙂 Even though I don’t eat soups every day , I like them especially when it gets colder outside. 

DSCN0333

Growing up in Poland I am used to the cold weather. Some winters in Poland are brutal. Nothing comparing to the weather in NJ. The first time I visited Poland with my husband was in December. There was so much snow everywhere that we were mostly stuck at home during our 2 week trip. We only went to visit my grandmother who lives in North-Eastern part of Poland (on the border with Belarus) and it was even worst there. It is almost a 200 miles distance and it took us 8 hours to get there. My grandmother made us her signature soup called Ukrainian Borscht. It became my husband’s favorite. (Right after chicken corn soup 😉 ).  Today I’m posting the chicken corn soup recipe but I will share the Ukrainian Borscht with you soon as well. It looks like we’re going to have a cold winter this year so we should see many soups on the blog 🙂 I hope you like them.

To make the chicken corn soup you’ll need:

  • 4 cups of chicken stock ( I made my own but you can use store-bought)

Ingredients for the chicken stock

3 chicken legs
6 cups of water
2 carrots
2 celery stalks
1 onion
5 black peppercorns
salt to taste

  • 1 cup of corn ( I used canned corn)
  • 2 tbsp. chopped cilantro
  • 2 cups of shredded chicken
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 egg, beaten     
  • 1 tsp. of chili powder (optional)

To make the soup:

  1. If you’re making your own stock, bring all the ingredients listed under the stock part to a boil and boil for 1- 1 1/2 hours. 
  2. Take out the chicken and shred it
  3. Take out the carrot, peel it and dice it
  4. Strain the soup and discard all the remaining ingredients
  5. To the stock add the corn, cilantro, chicken and carrot
  6. Add the chili powder if you want your soup a little spicy. If not omit this step
  7. Bring to a boil
  8. Stir in the beaten egg
  9. Enjoy!!!

I just ate my bowl of soup and I feel warm and ready to deal with the snow 🙂 And that’s how my daughter welcomed the first snow of the year 🙂 

DSCN0237DSCN0238

 

And that’s me back in Poland when I was my daughter’s age 😉 

 DSCN0346

Thanks for reading and STAY WARM and keep eating soups 😉 !!!

DSCN0335

 

DSCN0279

Leave a Reply

