Date and Coconut Energy Balls/ Kuleczki z Daktyli i Wiórków Kokosowych

DSCN5723

If you follow my blog you might have noticed I actually disappeared from the blogging world for quite a while. I abandoned my blog for almost a year. If you ever wondered why, (or even noticed I was gone ;)) it’s because I was pregnant. During pregnancy, my hormones went crazy and I had many food aversions. The foods I used to like, I could not look at or smell. It was really weird. I could not take a smell of rotisserie chicken or french fries for instance. That’s why, I could not focus on writing recipes and cooking.

Now my little baby boy is already 4 months old. I’m finally getting back into the regular life. I still love to cook and whenever I get a chance, I try to update my blog.

Since I put on couple of pounds during the pregnancy, I started looking into some healthier recipes.I also started exercising. I’m proud to say, that I’m half way through “30 day shred with Jillian Michaels”. I must say, I’m not really a fit person but I did enjoy the workout. I actually looked forward to do the level 1 every day. Different story with level 2. This one is really a killer. No fun at all. But it’s working and that’s the most important thing.

So today’s recipe is from the healthy series. Those date coconut balls, are really yummy and you don’t need to feel guilty eating them. If you stick to few of them of course. Don’t eat all of them at once 😉 (even though you might feel like). Dates, even though they’re healthy, they still have a lot of sugar. So everything in moderation.

Jeżeli śledzicie mój blog, pewnie zauważyliście (albo i nie;) ), że zniknęłam ze świata bloggerów na pewien czas. Nie byłam aktywna na blogu od ponad roku. A powód był taki, że byłam w ciąży. Podczas ciąży moje hormony zwariowały i wiele potraw, które do tej pory lubiłam przestało mi smakować. Nie mogłam np. patrzeć na kurczaka z rożna lub frytki. Ich zapach mnie odrażał. Dlatego też, nie miałam ochoty na próbowanie nowych potraw, a tym bardziej na ich gotowanie.

Teraz mój synek ma już 4 miesiące i moje życie nareszcie wraca do normy. Nadal uwielbiam gotować i jak tylko mam czas, staram się wstawiać jakieś nowe przepisy na blog.

Podczas ciąży przytyłam kilka kilogramów, dlatego postanowiłam zacząć zdrowiej się odżywiać, aby szybciej wrócić do formy. Zaczęłam również ćwiczyć. Muszę się pochwalić, że jestem w połowie “30 day shred with Jillian Michaels”. Przyznam szczerze, że nie jestem osobą, która lubi ćwiczyć. Ale ten trening sprawia mi nawet przyjemność. Szczególnie pierwszy poziom. Inna historia z drugim, który naprawdę daje mi w kość. Ale widzę efekty, a to jest najważniejsze, więc się nie poddaję. 

Dzisiejszy przepis jest z serii tych zdrowszych. Jest to deser lub przekąska, którą można jeść bez poczucia winy. Kuleczki daktylowe z kokosem, to nie tylko zdrowsza wersja deseru, ale też smaczna. Jeżeli nie zjecie wszystkich w jeden dzień oczywiście, (chociaż możecie mieć ochotę 😉 ) Daktyle są zdrowe, ale zawierają wiele cukru, więc wszystko z umiarem. 

INGREDIENTS: (for approx. 20 balls)

  • 2 cups of dates
  • 1/2 cup of almonds
  • 1/2 cup of coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup of cocoa powder

Soak the dates and the almonds for at least an hour. Put everything in the food processor. Process until smooth. Add a little bit of the water from soaking dates if needed.

Form small balls. You can cover the balls in the coconut flakes, cocoa powder or nuts. Anything you like.

ENJOY!

SKŁADNIKI: (na ok. 20 kuleczek)

  • 2 szklanki daktyli
  • 1/2 szklanki migdałów
  • 1/2 szklanki wiórków kokosowych
  • 1/4 szklanki ciemnego kakao

Daktyle i migdały zalewamy wodą i odstawiamy na co najmniej godzinę. Odsączamy z wody, pozostawiając jedną lub dwie łyżki. Wszystkie składniki wrzucamy do robota kuchennego i miksujemy, aż się połączą i powstanie gładkie ciasto. W razie potrzeby dodajemy wodę, która pozostała po nasączaniu.

Z ciasta formujemy niewielkie kulki. Obtaczamy w kakao, wiórkach kokosowych lub orzechach.

SMACZNEGO!

DSCN5726

DSCN5740

Pralinki, trufelki, czekoladki...

Leave a Reply

